Skip to Main Content

About Us


On the evening of February 4th, 1889 the first meeting founding the Country Club of Buffalo was held at The Buffalo Club. E.B. Green, a prominent Buffalo architect, was in attendance and had been chosen to design the first clubhouse located on Elmwood Avenue and Nottingham Terrace in Buffalo, New York. The Club House was ready for use in August of 1889 and was constructed on open farmland in a low-slung Shingle Style. 

IMG-7240-jpgThe Exposition

The Club vacated their City land in 1899 to make way for the Pan American Exposition of 1901. The clubhouse became the “Women's Building” for that Exposition. As part of this move, property was acquired along Main Street where the city line met the Town of Amherst and a clubhouse and golf course were completed in 1902. Walter Travis upgraded the course in 1910 to attract a major tournament and the Men’s U. S. Open Championship was played there in 1912.

CCBuffalo_6_PanPresent Day

In 1920, feeling the need for more space, the membership again decided to relocate. In 1923, a unique parcel of land was purchased on Youngs Road in Amherst, New York, and began construction of a golf course, clubhouse and a polo field with stables.


In addition to the golf course and clubhouse, the Club has accommodation rooms, tennis courts, platform tennis courts, swimming pool and skeet, trap and brush walk shooting. For more than one hundred and thirty years, the Country Club of Buffalo has maintained a tradition of excellence in facilities and membership.